Build a Dock, Find a Lake

Image

In addition to watching documentaries and looking at pictures, I thought I would do a little first-hand research this past winter. Since I spent all of my money buying art supplies, I couldn’t afford a trip to the arctic. Instead I drove down to Utah Lake.  There weren’t any polar bears, but with temperatures 20 degrees below freezing I imagine it wasn’t too far off from April in the arctic. It didn’t help that I was only wearing moccasins, a blazer and socks on my hands (oh and pants too, in case there were any questions).

Image

I’ve also finished the stone quay, from which my miniature man will be departing on a seal-hunting schooner. Now, don’t anyone get uptight, the story is set in 1860, back when seals were valued only for their coats and blubber. They hadn’t realized yet that cuteness is more valuable—therefore not to be shot or clubbed.

Anyway, the quay is made of styrofoam, which I carved, covered in plaster, textured with spray-on-stone and painted.

The photo’s above are from my not so arctic, but plenty numb adventure.  The one below is my mini-quay.

Image

Leave a Reply

